1 Facebook Security Tip Everyone Should Do Now

First Things First: The Information You Share With Your Friends Is Not Restricted To Their Eyes Only

Recently there has been much talk over FB and privacy rights. You may have even taken part in sharing the ‘better safe than sorry’ status that was doing the rounds recently. In more recent news the hacking of the USA’s Central Command’s Twitter and Youtube account has made Social Media security a hot topic.

Unfortunately through signing up with Facebook anything that you make public can be used by 3rd parties. It’s in the sign up fine print and it has always been the same way. That does not mean however, that you should instantly panic and immediately boycott Facebook. Take a read of this article to gain a better understanding of the matter.

Furthermore, the more malicious of these Apps can be used to hack you Social Media accounts like with the USA’s Central Command’s accounts. You should be careful when accepting any App request for access and if your gut says there’s something iffy then trust it! It’s usually right!

This is not what I want to cover today. Today I would like to cover something that has flown under the radar of many a Facebook user.

3rd Person Access Via Your Friends

Many of you would have signed up to 3rd party systems that you can access via Facebook sign in. Spotify, Netflix, Candy Crush to name but a few. Many of these Apps are doing what marketers do on a daily basis, they use your Facebook profile information to tailor their services and advertise the right products to your FB page. Their request looks something like this:

1 Top FB Tip 1

They tell you what they can access when you sign in for the first time via Facebook and if you are like me I accepted these terms. I know the grey area that is Facebook privacy and I know that for the most part it is up to me to govern how much information I put up there.

What I did not realise until very recently was that my more private information, information that I have allowed only friends to see, can be made available to some Apps out there despite me not using or allowing them.

How? Because my friends use them and have accepted their access requests.

Before you get angry with your friends, you’re doing the exact same thing and these Apps are clever. They tell you that they will gain access to your contact list but do not need to tell you what they do with that contact list.

If your friend uses a 3rd party App on Facebook and have accepted their terms then automatic settings on YOUR Facebook account means that those Apps have access to the following pieces of information:

FB Security Settings v6

I’m not sure about you but I’m pretty uncomfortable with Apps that I have not given my authority to having access to information such as my photos and current location. Even if it’s just potentially.

If you feel the same way then go into your Facebook account and select settings.

FB Security Settings v3

Go into ‘Apps’ on the left hand side.

FB Security Settings v1

Scroll down to the bottom and select ‘Apps Others Use’ and edit your settings according to your comfort level.

FB Security Settings v2

And there you have it! Isn’t it a great feeling to essentially blockade those sneaky Apps?! When it comes to this aspect of sharing information it really is ‘Better Safe Than Sorry’.

FB Security Settings v5
(image www.comicbookmovie.com)

If you have ANY questions regarding Social Media Security or any advice of your own let me know! Leave a comment below, Tweet me @_NovaHelena, leave a comment on our FB page or find me on LinkedIn.

Hope it helps!

If you have ANY questions regarding Social Media or any advice of your own let me know! Leave a comment below, Tweet me @_NovaHelena, leave a comment on our FB page or find me on LinkedIn.

Tags